TOURISM

GASTRONOMY

The Belfort-Porrentruy region offers in local restaurants both fried carp, a great specialty of the neighbouring Sundgau, as well as the famous cancoillotte from the nearby Doubs plateaux, the roestis of the Swiss hills, or the essential Alsatian sauerkraut, served with Morteau and Montbéliard sausages, often preferred here to knacks or Strasbourg sausages.
Totché jurassien as well as platters of Doubs on the Swiss side, Flammekueche or Kugelhopf Alsatian, Riesling – Vin jaune – Gewürztraminer – Savagnin – Dôle or Swiss Fendant ? Halfway between Alsace and Jura, there will be lively discussions to accompany its Poulet de Bresse aux morilles, its Potée valaisanne, its Cheese fondue or  Baeckehoffe; and for afters a cheese portion of Tête-de-moine (Bellelay -CH), Comté, Morbier or Munster when you will have to choose between a Mirabelle brandy from Fougerolles, also the cherry capital, and a Damassine from Pays d’Ajoie.

All in moderation


CULTURE AND TOURIST DISCOVERIES

TOURISM OFFICES

Canton du Jura : tourist office
Jura bernois : tourist office
Territoire de Belfort : tourist office
Régional curiosities and suggestions

Some ideas

Please examine the text carefully, many links in it

  • BeaucourtMusée Japy – 16 Rue Frédéric Japy 
    The museum visit is intended to be both chronological and thematic since it traces the epic of the Japy from the origins of the company, while presenting the multiple productions that have left the factories over the 200 years of the firm’s existence.
    André Japy, born July 11, 1904 in Beaucourt (Territoire de Belfort) and died in 1974, is a French pioneer of aviation, from the Comtoise industrial dynasty of Japy. In 1938 he received the Louis Blériot medal from the International Aeronautical Federation for all of his achievements. Source Wikipedia
    Pierre Sellier, born November 8, 1892, in Beaucourt in the Territoire and Belfort, died May 16, 1949, in the same town, is known to have been the French soldier in the 1914 – 1918 war who sounded the first “cease -feu “, on November 7, 1918, in La Capelle (Aisne), during the arrival of the German plenipotentiaries responsible for negotiating the Armistice of the First World War. This will be signed on the following November 11 in the clearing of Rethondes in Compiègne (Oise). Pierre Sellier was nicknamed “le clairon de l’Armistice”. Source Wikipedia
  • Belfort – The Citadel and the Lion (sacred favorite monument of the French in 2020) , the ramparts, the old town with the Saint-Christophe Cathedral
     City of “three sieges” whose heroic defense by the troops of Denfert-Rochereau against the troops of Bismarck in 1870 will lead to its separation from the Haut-Rhin department then annexed to the Prussian Empire. The Alsatians of the south take refuge there in droves and contribute to the industrial development of the city (Alst[h]om).
  • Bourogne – 3 lavoirs 19ème well restored
  • Brebotte Museum of crafts and folk traditions, popular sound and light shows in July
    In this small village of Sundgau, the museum, through its collections, evokes endangered know-how and illustrates in the home the daily life of our ancestors. Musical entertainment and traditional dances in addition to the museum visit.
  • Courtelevant – Old water mill in operating condition
  • Delémont – Seat of Parliament and Government of République et Canton du Jura – large number of interesting monuments , Jura museum
  • Delle – Maison des cariatides, Maison Feltin, ramparts, old customs
  • Fesches-le-Châtel – Société Cristel High-end kitchen item, a legacy of the Japy casserie :
    In 1826, 20 years after its foundation, the Japy Frères Company built “la Casserie” in Fesches-le-Châtel to manufacture tin-plated household utensils. 150 years later, a page turned with the birth of the CRISTEL brand in 1983, labeled EPV (“Entreprise du patrimoine Vivant”).
  • Grandvillars – Oldest industrial site in France, housed in the historic buildings of the old forges and factories Viellard-Migeon the world headquarters of LISI and the leading company SELECTARC specializing among other things in the manufacture of electrodes
  • Joncherey – Monument in memory of Caporal Peugeot – 1st victim of the 1914-1918 war
  • Luxeuil-les-bains – A pretty town in the Vosges saônoises, endowed with a rich architectural and ornamenta heritage and renowned for its culinary specialties, its lace and mainly its thermal baths, it is one of the cities that are part of the regional natural park of the Ballons des Vosges.
  • Montbéliard – City ​​of the dukes of Würtemberg, castel.
    Labeled City of Art and History, the city is known worldwide for its Christmas market, considered one of the most beautiful in France.
    It is no less known for its agricultural and gastronomic heritage, the indisputable flagships of which are the Montbéliarde cow and the famous Montbéliard sausage, internationally renowned. The Pays de Montbéliard is also the cradle of automobiles Peugeot, from which the PSA Group originated.
  • Morvillars – Cradle of the industrial family Viellard Migeon (Hénokiens member) VMC Pêche et Rapala-VMC – world’s leading manufacturer of treble hooks and lures. EPV label (Living Heritage Company)
  • Petit-Croix – Aviator’s Adolphe Pégoud stele, author of the first head-down flight, inventor of the looping, first parachute jump from the plane he was piloting, first “ace” of the First World War
  • Saint-Dizier l’Évêque cenotaph church, anecdotal vineyard and a very beautiful 19th century washhouse in the “Val”; known among the coldest places in France with Mouthe
  • Saint-Ursanne Very picturesque medieval town (classified among the Most Beautiful Villages in Switzerland), 12th century cloister and collegiate church

TOURISME CÔTÉ FRANCE ET CÔTÉ SUISSE

GASTRONOMIE

La région de Belfort-Porrentruy propose dans les restaurants du secteur aussi bien la friture de carpe, grande spécialité du Sundgau voisin, que la célèbre cancoillotte venue des plateaux du Doubs tout proche, les « roestis » des collines suisses, ou l’incontournable choucroute alsacienne, accommodée aux saucisses de Morteau et de Montbéliard souvent préférées ici aux knacks ou saucisses de Strasbourg.

Totché jurassien aussi bien du côté suisse que des plateaux du Doubs, Flammekueche ou Kugelhopf alsacien ? Dôle ou Fendant suisses – Riesling ou Gewurtztramminer – Vin jaune ou Savagnin ? À mi-chemin entre Alsace et Jura, les discussions seront animées pour accompagner sa Potée Valaisanne, son Poulet de Bresse aux morilles, sa Fondue au fromage ou son Baeckehoffe ! Et après une portion de Tête-de-moine (Bellelay -CH), de Comté, de Morbier ou de Munster, il faudra encore choisir entre une Mirabelle de Fougerolles, aussi capitale de la cerise, et une Damassine du Pays d’Ajoie !

Le tout avec modération bien évidemment

CULTURE ET DÉCOUVERTES TOURISTIQUES

LES OFFICES DE TOURISME

Canton du Jura : office de tourisme
Jura bernois : office de tourisme
Territoire de Belfort : office de tourisme
Curiosités régionales et suggestions

QUELQUES IDÉES

examinez le texte attentivement, nombreux liens (en bleu pâle)

  • BeaucourtMusée Japy – 16 Rue Frédéric Japy 
    La visite du musée se veut à la fois chronologique et thématique puisqu’elle retrace l’épopée des Japy depuis les origines de l’entreprise, tout en présentant les multiples productions sorties des usines au cours des 200 ans d’existence de la firme.
    André Japy, né le 11 juillet 1904 à Beaucourt (Territoire de Belfort) et mort en 1974, est un pionnier français de l’aviation, issu de la dynastie industrielle comtoise des Japy. Il reçut en 1938 de la Fédération aéronautique internationale la médaille Louis Blériot pour l’ensemble de ses exploits. Source Wikipedia
    Pierre Sellier, né le 8 novembre 1892, à Beaucourt dans le Territoire e Belfort, mort le 16 mai 1949, dans la même ville, est connu pour avoir été le soldat français de la guerre de 1914 – 1918 qui sonna au clairon le premier « cessez-le-feu », le 7 novembre 1918, à La Capelle (Aisne), lors de l’arrivée des plénipotentiaires allemands chargés de négocier l’Armistice de la Première guerre mondiale. Celui-ci sera signé le 11 novembre suivant dans la clairière de Rethondes à Compiègne (Oise). Pierre Sellier a été surnommé « le clairon de l’Armistice ». Source Wikipedia

  • Belfort – La citadelle et le Lion (sacré monument préféré des français en 2020), les remparts, la vieille ville avec la Cathédrale Saint-Christophe.
    Ville « des trois sièges » dont La défense héroïque par les troupes de Denfert-Rochereau face aux troupes de Bismarck en 1870 amènera à sa séparation du département du Haut-Rhin alors annexé à l’empire prussien. Les alsaciens du sud s’y réfugient en masse et contribuent à l’essor industriel de la ville (Alst[h]om)
  • Bourogne – 3 lavoirs 19ème bien restaurés, église
  • Brebotte Musée de l’artisanat et des traditions populaires; spectacles son et lumière en juillet très prisés
    Dans ce petit village du Sundgau, le musée, par ses collections, évoque les savoir-faire en voie de disparition et illustre dans le logis le quotidien de nos ancêtres. Animation musicale et danses traditionnelles en plus de la visite du musée 
  • Delémont – Siège du Parlement et du Gouvernement de la République et Canton du Jura – grand nombre de monuments intéressants, musée jurassien
  • Delle – Maison des cariatides, Maison Feltin, remparts, ancienne douane; ville frontière
  • Fesches-le-Châtel – Société Cristel article de cuisine Haut de gamme, héritage de la casserie Japy
    En 1826, 20 ans après sa fondation, la Société Japy Frères édifie à Fesches-le-Châtel « la Casserie » pour y fabriquer des ustensiles de ménage en fer blanc étamé.150 ans plus tard, une page s’est tournée avec la naissance de la marque CRISTEL en 1983, labellisée EPV (« Entreprise du patrimoine Vivant »).
  • Grandvillars – Plus vieux site industriel de France, abrite dans les bâtiments historiques des anciennes forges et usines Viellard-Migeon le siège mondial de LISI et l’entreprise leader SELECTARC spécialisée entre autres dans la fabrication d’électrodes.
  • Joncherey – Monument à la mémoire du Caporal Peugeot – 1ère victime de la guerre 1914-1918
  • Luxeuil-les-bains – Jolie ville des Vosges saônoises, dotée d’un riche patrimoine architectural et ornemental et réputée pour ses spécialités culinaires, sa dentelle et principalement ses thermes, elle fait partie des villes portes adhérentes du parc naturel régional des Ballons des Vosges. 
  • Montbéliard – Cité des ducs de Würtemberg, château.
    Labellisée Ville d’Art et d’Histoire, la ville est connue mondialement pour son marché de Noël, considéré comme l’un des plus beaux de France. Elle n’est pas moins connue pour son patrimoine agricole et gastronomique, dont les fleurons incontestables sont la vache montbéliarde et la fameuse saucisse de Montbéliard, internationalement renommée. Le Pays de Montbéliard est aussi le berceau des automobiles Peugeot, d’où est issu le Groupe PSA.
  • Morvillars – Berceau de la famille industrielle Viellard Migeon (membre des Hénokiens), VMC Pêche et Rapala-VMC – premier fabricant mondial d’hameçons triples et de leurres. Label EPV (Entreprise du Patrimoine Vivant)
  • Petit-Croix – Stèle de l’aviateur Adolphe Pégoud, auteur du premier vol tête en bas, inventeur du looping, premier saut en parachute depuis l’avion qu’il pilote, premier « as » de la première guerre mondiale.
  • Porrentruy Ville de caractère. Siège provisoire des prince-évêques de Bâle jusqu’en 1828, chef-lieu du département français du Mont-Terrible de 1793 à 1800, ancien chef-lieu d’arrondissement du département du Haut-Rhin de 1800 à 1815.
    Centre culturel de la région d’Ajoie
  • Saint-Dizier l’Évêque église cénotaphe, vignoble anecdotique et très beau lavoir 19ème au « Val » ; connu parmi les lieux les plus froids de France avec Mouthe
  • Saint-Ursanne Très pittoresque cité médiévale (classée parmi les Plus beaux villages de Suisse), cloître et collégiale 12ème S